Gamification

Gamification: How game mechanics shape our work environment

We all want our customers and employees to be thrilled about and look forward to using our software. However, in reality it can be quite the opposite. Users often feel self-conscious about software they are supposed to work with but don’t really want to. At Centigrade, we believe that work is best accomplished if users truly enjoy using a software. Through “Gamification”, we can help you to ignite this intrinsic motivation in users, which is essential to an effective and satisfactory workflow.

We will support you raising motivation and efficiency in your company through playfulness!

Generate added value playfully

Gamification is the concept of generating an added value by integrating game mechanics and motivational elements into your software and work processes.

Gamification integrates and uses concepts and methods from behavioral and motivational psychology, user interface design as well as game design. In contrast to a “Serious Game” which transports an added value in form of one complete game, gamification focuses on the specific use of individual game mechanics that apply to a non-gaming context.

Towards best experience

Our gamification design process places great emphasis on users and their needs to create the best experience possible. Together we can develop a concept enabling users to reach a state of flow, coping with the task at hand in an ideal way. This kind of process optimization does not only increase user satisfaction, but also enhances process efficiency.

Personalized Gamification

What motivates us while playing games differs from person to person and from group to group. That is why we developed a test based on an empirical study, which lets everyone find out their personal player type. It can be figured out like this, what direction of playful motivation should be taken to meet the needs of one single user. Curious to know your playertype? Find out about it!

Motivation at the assembly line

Monotonous work at an assembly line can lead to cognitive fatigue and carelessness, and thus causes increased amount of unnecessary mistakes. Not only may it endanger the machine output performance, but also the workers’ safety. Centigrade has already developed engaging user interfaces for production stations to support users and challenge them cognitively, without generating cognitive overload.

LEGO-Modell einer gamifizierten Produktionsanlage

LEGO-Model of a gamified production facility

Gamification in Industry 4.0

Establishing an interconnected production in Industry 4.0 can be tricky. Large amounts of data have to be collected, analyzed and filtered regarding their importance for the users. Centigrade optimized a system for controlling and monitoring autonomous vehicles within a production facility of SEW-EURODRIVE by augmenting real-time camera footage with a 3D user interface, which greatly decreases the cognitive load and information overflow of users.

Fascination of flow: what potential do games have to offer?

At Centigrade we set great value on research studies to validate our assumptions and gain new insights which we can then use in client projects.

To build knowledge regarding the experience of flow Centigrade and Electronic Arts, one of the world’s leading producers of video games, completed a study about the emotional experience when playing Need for Speed.

Our expertise – Your profit

During the last couple of years, Centigrade has made a name for itself as one of the most competent companies for gamification solutions. This is reflected in numerous press reviews and articles by the leading print media, as well as our appearances on TV.

Custom-made motivation

Standardized and inflexible scoring or reward systems like rankings may be devastating for the motivation of users. Therefore we don’t sell gamification off-the-shelf, but rather create and test a custom made gamification solution that will be optimized for your users’ needs and seamlessly integrated into your individual interface. This may be the mindful placing of game mechanics in your application and workflow, or creating a complete new concept for your user interface.

Did we attract your attention? We would be happy to explain our services face-to-face in a personal and non-binding context. We look forward to hearing from you.

Dr. Jörg Niesenhaus

Head of Gamification

+49 208 883 672 89

Contact form

  • Saarbrücken

    Science Park Saar, Saarbrücken

    South West Location

    Headquarter Saarbrücken
    Centigrade GmbH
    Science Park 2
    66123 Saarbrücken
    Germany
    Saarland
    On the map

    +49 681 959 3110

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Mülheim an der Ruhr

    Games Factory Mühlheim an der Ruhr

    North West Location

    Office Mülheim
    Centigrade GmbH
    Kreuzstraße 1-3
    45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr
    Germany
    North Rhine-Westphalia
    On the map

    +49 208 883 672 89

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Haar · Munich

    Haar / München

    South Location

    Office Munich
    Centigrade GmbH
    Bahnhofstraße 18
    85540 Haar · Munich
    Germany
    Bavaria
    On the map

    +49 89 20 96 95 94

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Frankfurt am Main

    Frankfurt am Main

    Central Location

    Office Frankfurt
    Centigrade GmbH
    Kaiserstraße 61
    60329 Frankfurt am Main
    Germany
    Hesse
    On the map

    +49 69 241 827 91

    +49 681 959 3119

Gamification

Gamification: Wie Spielprinzipien unsere Arbeitswelt motivierender gestalten

Oft sind Nutzer gehemmt durch Software, die sie bedienen müssen, aber nicht wollen. Wir glauben, dass Arbeit am besten erledigt wird, wenn das Gegenteil der Fall ist: Stellen Sie sich vor, dass Ihre Kunden oder Mitarbeiter darauf brennen, Ihre Software benutzen zu dürfen. Mit dem „Gamification“ Ansatz können wir Sie dabei unterstützen, die für gelungene Arbeit so wichtige intrinsische Motivation Ihrer Nutzer zu entfachen.

Spielerisch zu mehr Motivation und Effizienz in ihrem Unternehmen – wir helfen Ihnen, diese Ziele zu erreichen.

Spielerisch Mehrwerte generieren

Gamification heißt: Mehrwerte generieren durch die Integration von spielerischen und motivationsfördernden Elementen in Ihre Software und Prozesse.

Gamification bedient sich bei Konzepten und Methoden aus den Bereichen Verhaltens- und Motivationspsychologie, User Interface Design sowie Game Design. Im Gegensatz zu „Serious Games“, welche Mehrwerte mittels eines vollständigen Spiels vermitteln, konzentriert sich Gamification auf den gezielten Einsatz einzelner, spielerischer Elemente, welche in spielfremdem Kontext Anwendung finden.

Auf dem Weg zur optimalen Erfahrung

Unser Gamification-Designprozess stellt Ihre Nutzer und deren Bedürfnisse in den Mittelpunkt, um eine möglichst optimale Erfahrung zu gestalten. Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam den idealen Bereich zwischen Überforderung und Unterforderung finden, der Ihre Nutzer in die Lage versetzt, den sogenannten „Flow“-Zustand zu erreichen. Diese Art der Prozessoptimierung schlägt sich nicht nur in einer höheren Nutzerzufriedenheit nieder, sondern macht sich auch in einer gesteigerten Prozesseffizienz bemerkbar.

Motivation am Fließband

Monotone Fließbandarbeit kann zur kognitiven Ermüdung und damit zu einer erhöhten Fehlerzahl bei der Bedienung führen. Diese Nachlässigkeiten können nicht nur den Maschinendurchsatz nachteilig beeinflussen, sondern auch handfeste Gefahren im Zusammenspiel zwischen Mensch und Maschine generieren. Centigrade entwickelte engagierende User Interfaces für Produktionsstationen, welche die Nutzer optimal in ihrem Prozess unterstützen und sie kognitiv fordern ohne sie zu überlasten.

LEGO-Modell einer gamifizierten Produktionsanlage

LEGO-Modell einer gamifizierten Produktionsanlage

Gamification für die Industrie 4.0

Die Realisierung der verknüpften Produktion in der Industrie 4.0 hält einige Fallstricke bereit. Es fallen riesige Datenmengen an, die gesammelt, analysiert und auf die Wichtigkeit für den Nutzer hin gefiltert werden müssen.
Mittels einer Kombination aus realem Kamerabild und überlagerter 3D-Benutzeroberfläche konnte Centigrade die Steuerung und Überwachung autonomer Fahrzeuge in Produktionshallen für die Firma SEW-EURODRIVE optimieren, um die Nutzer vor der Überforderung durch Informationsüberfluss zu bewahren.

Faszination Flow: Welche Potenziale bergen Spiele?

Bei Centigrade legen wir auch viel Wert auf forschungsnahe Studien, um unsere Annahmen zu validieren und neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, welche wir dann in Kundenprojekten zur Anwendung bringen können.

Um mehr Wissen hinsichtlich des Flow-Erlebens zu gewinnen, untersuchte Centigrade in einer Studie gemeinsam mit Electronic Arts, einem der weltweit größten Hersteller für digitale Spiele, das emotionale Erleben beim Spielen von Need for Speed.

Unsere Expertise – Ihr Gewinn

Centigrade hat sich im Verlauf der letzten Jahre einen Namen als eines der pioniergeistigen deutschen Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von herausragenden Gamification-Lösungen gemacht. Dies zeigt auch unser Pressespiegel zu Gamification, der zahlreiche Beiträge aus den führenden Printmedien und dem Fernsehen enthält.

Maßgeschneiderte Motivation

Standardisierte und wenig flexible Punkt- oder Belohnungssysteme können sich mitunter fatal auf die Motivation der Nutzer auswirken. Deshalb produzieren wir keine „Gamification“ von der Stange, sondern kreieren und testen für Sie eine maßgeschneiderte Gamification-Lösung, die optimal auf Ihre Bedürfnisse abgestimmt ist und sich nahtlos in Ihren Anwendungskontext einfügt. Dabei kommt sowohl eine Einbindung spielerischer Elemente in Ihre bestehenden Anwendungen oder Prozesse in Frage, als auch beispielsweise die Neukonzeption im Rahmen einer User Interface-Entwicklung.

Sie haben Interesse? Gerne stellen wir Ihnen unsere Dienstleistungen und Referenzprojekte in einem persönlichen und unverbindlichen Gespräch vor. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage.

Dr. Jörg Niesenhaus

Head of Gamification

+49 208 883 672 89

Kontaktformular

  • Saarbrücken

    Science Park Saar, Saarbrücken

    Standort Südwest

    Hauptsitz Saarbrücken
    Centigrade GmbH
    Science Park 2
    66123 Saarbrücken
    Deutschland
    Saarland
    Auf der Karte

    +49 681 959 3110

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Mülheim an der Ruhr

    Games Factory Mühlheim an der Ruhr

    Standort Nordwest

    Geschäftsstelle Mülheim
    Centigrade GmbH
    Kreuzstraße 1-3
    45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr
    Deutschland
    Nordrhein-Westfalen
    Auf der Karte

    +49 208 883 672 89

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Haar · München

    Haar / München

    Standort Süd

    Geschäftsstelle München
    Centigrade GmbH
    Bahnhofstraße 18
    85540 Haar · München
    Deutschland
    Bayern
    Auf der Karte

    +49 89 20 96 95 94

    +49 681 959 3119

  • Frankfurt am Main

    Frankfurt am Main

    Standort Mitte

    Geschäftsstelle Frankfurt
    Centigrade GmbH
    Kaiserstraße 61
    60329 Frankfurt am Main
    Deutschland
    Hessen
    Auf der Karte

    +49 69 241 827 91

    +49 681 959 3119